SHARED GOVERNANCE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE MINUTES OF THE MEETING OF AUGUST 27, 2012 3:30 P.M., UNA BOARD ROOM

The Shared Governance Executive Committee met at 3:30 p.m. on Monday, August 27, 2012, in the UNA Board Room. The following members were present: Dr. Larry W. Adams, Mr. James B. Eubanks, Dr. Vagn K. Hansen, Mr. Kevin L. Jacques, Dr. Marilyn B. Lee, Mr. William E. Riley, Ms. Jennifer L. Sharp, Dr. Richard A. Statom, and Ms. Darlene P. Townsend. Dr. Brenda H. Webb, Chairperson, presided.

Call of Meeting to Order

Chair Webb called the meeting to order. Committee members introduced themselves and reported the area they represent.

Approval of the Agenda

Dr. Statom made a motion and Mr. Jacques seconded the motion to approve an amended agenda to add discussion of the committee charge. The motion was approved unanimously.

<u>Proposal to recognize the Ad Hoc Scholarship Committee as the University Scholarship Committee outside of the Shared Governance system</u>

Dr. Statom moved approval for discussion and Mr. Riley seconded the motion. The motion was approved unanimously. Dr. Statom made a motion and Dr. Adams seconded the motion to approve an amendment to the proposal that it function within the shared governance structure. The motion was approved unanimously. Dr. Adams made a motion and Dr. Statom seconded the motion to approve the establishment of a work group. Dr. Statom made a motion and Mr. Jacques seconded the motion to amend the motion to approve the establishment of a work group to exist under the Strategic Planning and Budget Study Committee. The motion was approved unanimously. Dr. Statom made a motion and Mr. Jacques seconded the motion to establish a recommended additional membership for the work group as follows: (1) one non-administrative faculty member from each college appointed by the Faculty Senate, in addition to the existing faculty members serving on the hoc committee; (2) two staff members appointed by the Staff Senate; and (3) one student appointed by the Student Government Association. The motion was approved unanimously. These actions will be communicated to Dr. Thomas Calhoun as originator.

Election of Vice Chair

Dr. Statom made a motion nominating Dr. Larry Adams and Mr. Riley seconded the motion. There being no further nominations, Dr. Adams was elected by acclamation.

Comments from Constituent Representatives